Habits and Vegetables

On being grateful: I am grateful that I am (slowly) learning the importance of good habits. Paraphrasing something I have heard recently: what gets measured usually gets managed. On the personal finance front, I sit down each month to track what is coming in versus what is going out.

Which Leads Me To . . . 

On being frugal: During the week, I eat the same thing for breakfast and lunch each day.

For breakfast is a homemade vegetable smoothie, and for lunch is homemade vegetable soup. I try to squeeze as much sleep as I can in the morning, so by the time I need to leave for work, I am usually running out the door and don’t have much time to enjoy a sit-down breakfast. Similarly, lunch is an equally-harried occasion that is usually enjoyed at my desk.

Given that I don’t have the time to actually enjoy what I’m eating for breakfast and lunch, I purposefully eat healthy during those meals. I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the bacon-and-eggs breakfast as I’m rushing out the door or the finger-licking-good fried chicken in the midst of catching up on emails during lunch, so what better time to eat healthy than when I’m the least conscious about what I’m actually eating?

Leave a Reply

