Trusting My Gut and Thrift Store Shopping

On being grateful: I am grateful that I am (slowly!) learning how to trust my gut more often. Take what happened a few weeks ago.

I was considering hiring a vendor for a personal project. This project is something that I can do myself, but from friends who have undertaken similar projects, I had heard that it’s easier to work with someone that does this type of thing for a living. With that in mind, I emailed a vendor, and his response gave me a bit of pause, but nothing that was too out of the ordinary. We arranged a call where I gave him the specifications of the project, and at the end of the call, he made a remark that indicated something was definitely off. Long story short, I have decided to undertake the project myself and not outsource it to anyone. While it would be nice to have help on this project, I am grateful that I caught wind of the vendor’s style of business early on – and doubly grateful for the reminder that no one cares more about me than I do.

Which Leads Me To . . .

On being frugal: There wasn’t too much going on at work yesterday, so I left work early and went thrift store shopping. I slowly meandered around the various sections of the store but wasn’t really finding anything to my liking. Until I spotted a nearly new Ann Taylor suit — both pants and blazer — for $12.90. I tried it on, and it was a perfect fit. Since today was half-off everything day, the final price of the suit would have been less than $7. Unfortunately, the blazer had a rip on the inside, so I did not end up buying it. But, I will keep my eyes peeled for similarly-priced suits on the next half-off day.

Leave a Reply

