Steak and Presents

On being grateful: I am grateful to have learned that spending top dollar at five-star restaurants does not always mean you are getting top quality.  Take what happened when the bosses took us out to, arguably, the most expensive and well-known steakhouse in the city. Dinner was finishing up, and one of my bosses – knowing my love for all things steak – asked me what I thought of this restaurant compared to the “Mom-n-Pop diner” in my hometown.  The fancy steakhouse was pretty good, I replied, but at the end of the day, it paled in comparison to the quality food (and service) I received at the “diner” closer to home.

Which Leads Me To . . .

On being frugal: For Christmas, I received a present that I knew I would never use and that would literally collect dust in my living room. The present didn’t include a receipt, and I didn’t know who had bought it, but I knew that it had been bought at a certain store. The day after Christmas, I went to return the present. I was a little anxious that I wouldn’t be able to return it since I didn’t have a receipt, but luckily, the cashier offered store credit in exchange for the return. I jumped at the offer – and received an in-store gift card of almost $110.

Leave a Reply

